Message from the Chairman of Department

The Department of Pharmacology and Pharmacognosy was established as a section of the then Department of Pharmacy in 1977. At that time majority of the academic staff members were foreign.

Over the years the section has evolved to become the DOPP presently consisting of eleven academic staff including 3 professors, 1 associate professor, 1 senior lecturer, 4 lecturers and 5 tutorial fellows. In addition, the department has a team of technical staff comprising 1 principal technologist, 1 chief technologist, 2 senior technologists and two technologists. Other staff include a departmental secretary, animal attendant and an office messenger.

The departments has two sections: Pharmacology and Pharmacognosy. The staff of DOPP are committed to providing quality education to pharmacy students and service to the community at large. To this end there are numerous research projects which have been undertaken at the department, many of which are collaborative. Location:

The DOPP is strategically located at the Kenyatta National Hospital, Hospital Road, off Ngong Road.

For further information contact:



The Department of Pharmacology and Pharmacognosy was established as a section of the then Department of Pharmacy in 1974, becoming a fully fledged department in 1994 when the Department of Pharmacy transformed into the Faculty of Pharmacy.

The Department of Pharmacology and Pharmacognosy is now one of the three departments within the School of Pharmacy, University of Nairobi. The Department has two sections i.e. Pharmacology and Pharmacognosy.

Over the years the Department has evolved and grown, presently consisting of 16 members of academic staff with diverse areas of specialization. These are as follows:  (3) Professors, (1) Associate Professor, (5) Senior Lecturers (6) lecturers and (1) tutorial fellows. In addition, the Department has a team of technical staff comprising of (1) Principal technologist, (1) Chief technologist, (2) Senior technologists and one technologist.  Other staffs include a department secretary, (1) Junior Technologist, two animal attendants and (1) messenger. 

Thematic Units

Thematic Units

Thematic Units

1. Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Pharmacology and Therapeutics is the study of how chemical agents, both natural and synthetic, affect biological systems, and the application of this knowledge in disease prevention and management. About this Thematic Unit.

2. Pharmacognosy

Pharmacognosy is the study of the physical, chemical, biochemical and biological properties of crude extracts, drug substances or potential drugs or drug substances of natural origin. It also involves the search for new drugs from natural sources  about this thematic unit.

3. Pharmacoepidemiology and Pharmacovigilance

Pharmacoepidemiology is the study of the use of and the effects of drugs in large numbers of people.Pharmacovigilance is a pharmacological science which focuses on the collection, detection, assessment, monitoring, and prevention of adverse effects and medication errors caused by pharmaceuticals and medical devices  about this thematic unit.

4. Pharmacogenomics and Pharmacogenetics

Pharmacogenomics and Pharmacogenetics is a branch of pharmacology that studies how genetic differences can affect individual responses to drugs, both in terms of therapeutic effect as well as adverse effects.  about this thematic unit.